Jill Paton Walsh

Lord Peter Returns to Oxford in Walsh’s The Late Scholar

by Sharon Tucker


Have you ever heard of, much less read, a pastiche that pleased all readers? I have not. As we know, even the original classics have their detractors. Some readers are over-the-moon to get a chance to re-enter the world of a beloved author and are generous in their assessments of those who attempt to carry on in the tradition of Jane Austen, Charlotte Bronte or Dorothy L. Sayers. Other readers will urge pastiche readers to get themselves back to the original authors, to eschew all imitations and to be satisfied with whatever canon as penned.

Murder Most Academic: Mysteries Set in Oxford, Cambridge & New York

by Sharon Tucker



Check out the bounty of plots, characters and motives university life offers a writer of mysteries. Its heightened atmosphere is a microcosm peopled with heroes, forces of nature, demons, supplicants willing and unwilling, sorcerers and bean counters. It is an elite country which lauds, yet persecutes its citizens. To the initiated, the period of initiation never seems to end, evidenced by the necessity of publishing and taking on the administrative duty of turf protection.

SUBSCRIBE NOW!

podcast

powered by TinyLetter

The gold medal for all-around wonderful kitty could easily go to darling Chicken Little! This cutiepie never misses an opportunity to hoot it up with her friends, explore any nook or cranny, and make it her mission to check out whatever happens to be going on. Chicken Little came along way after suffering a toe injury calling for immediate amputation. She's all better now and you can't even notice she's missing a rear toe. What an adorable combination she is of fun-loving spirit and sweet, deep affection, a girl who will easily capture hearts in a forever family that cherishes her. Precious Chicken Little would love to be your most darling doll! Check her out on the Cat House website to learn more.