A California Magazine with Local Focus and Global Appeal:
Community - Entertainment - Human Interest


Weekly issues every Saturday morning and other special articles throughout the week — there's something for everyone. Check out our sister site KRL News & Reviews for even more articles every week.


Jill Paton Walsh

by Sharon Tucker


Have you ever heard of, much less read, a pastiche that pleased all readers? I have not. As we know, even the original classics have their detractors. Some readers are over-the-moon to get a chance to re-enter the world of a beloved author and are generous in their assessments of those who attempt to carry on in the tradition of Jane Austen, Charlotte Bronte or Dorothy L. Sayers. Other readers will urge pastiche readers to get themselves back to the original authors, to eschew all imitations and to be satisfied with whatever canon as penned.

{ 0 comments }

by Sharon Tucker



Check out the bounty of plots, characters and motives university life offers a writer of mysteries. Its heightened atmosphere is a microcosm peopled with heroes, forces of nature, demons, supplicants willing and unwilling, sorcerers and bean counters. It is an elite country which lauds, yet persecutes its citizens. To the initiated, the period of initiation never seems to end, evidenced by the necessity of publishing and taking on the administrative duty of turf protection.

{ 0 comments }

  • Arts & Entertainment

  • Books & Tales

  • Community

  • Education

  • Food Fun

  • Helping Hands

  • Hometown History

  • Pets

  • Teens

  • Terrific Tales