Assault and Beret By Jenn McKinlay: Review/Giveaway

Feb 4, 2017 | 2017 Articles, Mysteryrat's Maze, Sandra Murphy

by Sandra Murphy

Details at the end of this post on how to enter to win a copy of Assault and Beret. We also have a link to order it from Amazon, and from an indie bookstore where a portion goes to help support KRL.

Viv is teaching a hat making class in Paris. Since she’s not a people-person, Scarlett is along to keep things going smoothly and to help find Viv’s husband—the one no one knew she had until recently. Viv’s decided she wants an annulment, and it’s up to Scarlett to find Will and break the news to him.

As it turns out, Will isn’t that hard to find. The problem is, Scarlett likes him, and he’s charming enough to cause Viv to have second thoughts about the annulment. Will’s an art appraiser and finder of stolen art. He’s able to show off a painting he’s authenticating to Viv and Scarlett, but when they leave the insurance office, Will is grabbed and thrown into a car. book

The police do take the kidnapping seriously, but with so little to go on, they’re not able to do much about it. Scarlett calls on Harry, their business manager for the hat shop, and he’s able to come and help. Tracing Will is as convoluted as tracing the Renoir he was investigating. When a dead body turns up, the stakes are raised, and Will’s chances of survival are lowered.

Calling in reinforcements, Nick and Andre as well as Alistair, all arrive from London to join the hunt, adding their own special talents as they follow leads, large and small.

Paris is a nice change from the London hat shop. Suzanne, their hostess and her friend Lucas from the art school are a delightful pair. Readers will hope to see more of them in future books. This is the fifth book in the Hat Shop Mystery series. Scarlett has vowed to take a year off from dating but there’s Harry, thoughtful and kind, and leading her into temptation. Viv seems to settle down a bit and not be as “on a whim” as when first introduced.

The mystery is well-plotted as no one and nothing is as it first appears. It takes all of Scarlett’s wits to find out the who-done-it, why, and how as well as make sure they all survive finding Will. With Scarlett’s self-imposed no-dating deadline looming, Viv’s need to make a decision and their gift for getting themselves into trouble, readers will anxiously await what comes next.

McKinlay also writes the Library Lovers mysteries (8 books) and the Cupcake Bakery series (9 books). Readers who enjoy Viv and Scarlett will want to read them all.

To enter to win a copy of Assault and Berett, simply email KRL at krlcontests@gmail[dot]com by replacing the [dot] with a period, and with the subject line “berett,” or comment on this article. A winner will be chosen February 11, 2017. U.S. residents only. If entering via email please include your mailing address, and if via comment please include your email address.

Check out other mystery articles, reviews, book giveaways & short stories in our mystery section.

Use this link to purchase the book & a portion goes to help support KRL & indie bookstore Mysterious Galaxy:

You can also use this link to purchase the book on Amazon. If you have ad blocker on you may not see the link:

sybilfinalad

Sandra Murphy lives in the shadow of the Arch, in the land of blues, booze and shoes—St Louis, Missouri. While writing magazine articles to support her mystery book habit, she secretly polishes mystery books of her own, hoping, someday, they will see the light of Barnes and Noble and a Kindle. You can find several of Sandra’s short stories at Untreed Reads including her newest, “Arthur,” included in the anthology titled, Flash and Bang, available now. Look for Denali, in the anthology Dogs and Dragons.

Disclosure: This post contains links to an affiliate program, for which we receive a few cents if you make purchases. KRL also receives free copies of most of the books that it reviews, that are provided in exchange for an honest review of the book.

26 Comments

  1. Oh the city of love and mystery!!! I’m beyond excited for the chance to win this book and it even gets announced on my birthday!

    Reply
  2. Love Jen McKinlay. Her books are great.

    Reply
  3. Would like to read. Fingers crossed.

    Reply
  4. Thanks for the great review and giveaway. This sounds very interesting.

    Reply
  5. I always enjoy reading books by Jenn McKinlay. Thanks!

    Reply
  6. I’d love to win a giveaway from this author! Thanks so much for the chance!! lindaherold999@gmail.com

    Reply
  7. Wow! Sounds amazing thank you

    Reply
  8. I just love Jenn McKinley’s books. I need to catch up on this series. I’ve only read the first one. pgenest57 at aol dot com

    Reply
  9. Lovely post. Would love to read this book. Thank you for the chance to do so

    Reply
  10. I can’t wait to read this.
    kckendler at gmail dot com

    Reply
  11. This series is on my TBR list. Viv and Scarlett sound like so much fun!

    Reply
  12. I love Jenn’s books! Thanks for this opportunity!

    Reply
  13. Love this series! Thanks for the chance zeta(at)iwon(dot)com

    Reply
  14. Have loved the Hat Shop mysteries as well as McKinlay’s other series (Cupcake and Library Lovers). As far as cozy mysteries go these are some of the best plotted and well written out there. It’s sad that this is the last of the Hat Shop series but here’s hoping that another publisher will pick it up. Can’t wait to have more adventures with Scarlet and Viv.

    Reply
  15. I’ve been interested in this book for awhile and would love to read it. Thankyou for the opportunity! minishoes@msn.com

    Reply
  16. Sounds like a great read!!

    Reply
  17. Would love to travel to Paris 🙂
    raineybird at yahoo dot com

    Reply
  18. Thanks for a great review and I would love to win a print copy and post reviews after. ptclayton2@aol.com Thanks for the chance

    Reply
  19. The books sounds great. I’ve never been to Europe but would love to go someday to discover all that is there.
    scarletbegonia5858@gmail.com

    Reply
  20. One of my favorite series!

    Reply
  21. I lived meeting Jenn McKinley, and looking forward to reading more of her books.

    Reply
  22. I really like Jenn McKinley’s books, but I haven’t read this series yet. Would love to read “Assault and Beret”.
    diannekc8(at)gmail(dot)com

    Reply
  23. Sounds like a terrific read, thanks for offer!

    Reply
  24. We have a winner

    Reply

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

SUBSCRIBE NOW!

podcast

powered by TinyLetter

The gold medal for all-around wonderful kitty could easily go to darling Chicken Little! This cutiepie never misses an opportunity to hoot it up with her friends, explore any nook or cranny, and make it her mission to check out whatever happens to be going on. Chicken Little came along way after suffering a toe injury calling for immediate amputation. She's all better now and you can't even notice she's missing a rear toe. What an adorable combination she is of fun-loving spirit and sweet, deep affection, a girl who will easily capture hearts in a forever family that cherishes her. Precious Chicken Little would love to be your most darling doll! Check her out on the Cat House website to learn more.