A California Magazine with Local Focus and Global Appeal:
Community - Entertainment - Human Interest


Weekly issues every Saturday morning and new articles throughout the week, including — movie reviews each Monday at 7pm and live events Wednesdays at 7pm. If you love mysteries — explore Mysteryrat’s Maze — there's something for everyone… and check out our sister site on Blogger for bonus articles.


Mysteryrat’s Maze is your online source for everything mystery!Click on article titles to see full articles.

by Sandra Murphy


We end this month with another fun group of mysteries from Penguin. We have food, cats, bookmobile, crafts, food, and more: Ill-Gotten Panes by Jennifer McAndrews, Silence of the Lambs Wool by Betty Hechtman, Tailing a Tabby by Laurie Cass, Grace Against the Clock By Julie Hyzy, and Some Enchanted Éclair by Bailey Cates. Details on how to win copies of all 5 books at the end of this post, and a link to purchase them where a portion goes to help support KRL.

{ 19 comments }

by Terry Ambrose


Have you ever wondered how that favorite author of yours produced a fabulous book after he died? Was the work written prior to the author’s death and only published afterwards? Was the creative effort put in by the originating author, and then edited by someone else? Or, did someone else take over the series altogether? In screenplays, music, and literature, all of these scenarios take place.

{ 2 comments }

by Lorie Lewis Ham


Last week we reviewed Marcia Muller’s latest Sharon McCone mystery, The Night Searchers, and this week we had the privilege of interviewing her.

{ 1 comment }

by Ben Solomon



Let’s say you’re sharp. Really sharp. Sharp as Einstein on a good day. You can call it six, seven, even eight times out of ten what’s beneath a rock. Any rock. And therein lies the catch. Never can you figure when it’s going to turn out to be that ninth or tenth time.

{ 4 comments }

by Sunny Frazier



Three places you should be glad you didn’t go to on vacation this year are Windigo Island, Lost Island and City of Ghosts.
Windigo is the name of a mythical beast and Windigo Island is the name of William Kent Krueger’s 14th Cork O’Connor mystery. When the body of a teenage girl washes up on the shores of the island, the Ojbwe tribe knows it’s an evil omen. Cork is asked by a friend to investigate and in the process he faces his own demons, both mythical and real.

{ 3 comments }

by Lorie Lewis Ham



Marcia Muller’s Sharon McCone mystery series were my introduction to contemporary mysteries– before that I’d only read Agatha Christie and Sherlock Holmes in my mid teens. I can’t believe her 32nd book in the series, Night Searchers, has just come out!

{ 11 comments }

by Sandra Murphy



Gregory Smith, aka The Kid, used to be a professional pickpocket. He’s given up that life for a fresh start with his bride, Lynn, at their bookstore. He doesn’t miss picking pockets. Much.

{ 6 comments }

by Deborah Harter Williams



Thank you TV creators of Oz–first and foremost for the treat that is the Miss Fisher Mysteries. Bringing Kerry Greenwood’s Phrynne (pronounced Fry-knee) Fisher to the screen is a marvelous accomplishment. If you turn the sound down and just watch the scenery and the costumes you will be well entertained, but then you’d miss out on the stories that are well-crafted, based on intriguing history and well-acted.

{ 4 comments }

Miami Snow: Mystery Short Story

IN THE July 19 ISSUE

FROM THE 2014 Articles,
andMysteryrat's Maze,
andTerrific Tales
SECTIONS

by Ilene Schneider


The morning after I arrived in Miami, I opened the window shades in my bedroom and saw eight inches of snow. I guess I should clarify: I was in Miami, Vermont.

{ 2 comments }

by Marilyn Meredith



Murmurs of Insanity, a Moriah Dru/Richard Lake Mystery by Gerrie Ferris Fingers, is a fascinating and complicated trail littered with all sorts of intriguing characters including some who are missing: a young teen, an artist and his girlfriend.

{ 5 comments }

by Sandra Murphy &
Cynthia Chow


This week we have another helping of food mysteries from Penguin-Cookies and Scream: A Cookie Cutter Shop Mystery by Virginia Lowell, Crime Rib: A Food Lovers’ Village Mystery by Leslie Budewitz, Maple Mayhem by Jessie Crockett, and Muffin but Murder by Victoria Hamilton. Details at the end of this post on how to win all 4 books, and a link to purchase them where a portion goes to support KRL.

{ 14 comments }

by Sharon Tucker


Have you ever heard of, much less read, a pastiche that pleased all readers? I have not. As we know, even the original classics have their detractors. Some readers are over-the-moon to get a chance to re-enter the world of a beloved author and are generous in their assessments of those who attempt to carry on in the tradition of Jane Austen, Charlotte Bronte or Dorothy L. Sayers. Other readers will urge pastiche readers to get themselves back to the original authors, to eschew all imitations and to be satisfied with whatever canon as penned.

{ 0 comments }

by

by Robert Weibezahl



“Bless me Father, for I have sinned,” George began to recite even before Father James had finished sliding open the ornate grille that separated penitent from priest in the confessional. “It has been two weeks since my last confession.”

{ 3 comments }

Murder in the First: TV review

IN THE July 12 ISSUE

FROM THE 2014 Articles,
andMysteryrat's Maze,
andTV
SECTIONS

by Bobbi A. Chukran


Murder in the First is a new TV drama that aired on TNT a few weeks ago. The series was created by Steven Bochco, and Eric Lodal.
The show explores one crime through ten episodes, going from the commission of the crime, through the investigation, to the arrest and trial.

{ 3 comments }

  • Arts & Entertainment

  • Books & Tales

  • Community

  • Education

  • Food

  • Helping Hands

  • Hometown History

  • Pets

  • Teens

  • Terrific Tales