A California Magazine with Local Focus and Global Appeal:
Community - Entertainment - Human Interest


Weekly issues every Saturday morning and other special articles throughout the week — there's something for everyone. Check out our sister sites Kings River Lite and KRL News & Reviews for bonus articles.

Previous post:

Next post:


Assault and Beret By Jenn McKinlay: Review/Giveaway

IN THE February 4 ISSUE

FROM THE 2017 Articles,
andMysteryrat's Maze,
andSandra Murphy
SECTIONS

by Sandra Murphy

Details at the end of this post on how to enter to win a copy of Assault and Beret. We also have a link to order it from Amazon, and from an indie bookstore where a portion goes to help support KRL.

Viv is teaching a hat making class in Paris. Since she’s not a people-person, Scarlett is along to keep things going smoothly and to help find Viv’s husband—the one no one knew she had until recently. Viv’s decided she wants an annulment, and it’s up to Scarlett to find Will and break the news to him.

As it turns out, Will isn’t that hard to find. The problem is, Scarlett likes him, and he’s charming enough to cause Viv to have second thoughts about the annulment. Will’s an art appraiser and finder of stolen art. He’s able to show off a painting he’s authenticating to Viv and Scarlett, but when they leave the insurance office, Will is grabbed and thrown into a car. book

The police do take the kidnapping seriously, but with so little to go on, they’re not able to do much about it. Scarlett calls on Harry, their business manager for the hat shop, and he’s able to come and help. Tracing Will is as convoluted as tracing the Renoir he was investigating. When a dead body turns up, the stakes are raised, and Will’s chances of survival are lowered.

Calling in reinforcements, Nick and Andre as well as Alistair, all arrive from London to join the hunt, adding their own special talents as they follow leads, large and small.

Paris is a nice change from the London hat shop. Suzanne, their hostess and her friend Lucas from the art school are a delightful pair. Readers will hope to see more of them in future books. This is the fifth book in the Hat Shop Mystery series. Scarlett has vowed to take a year off from dating but there’s Harry, thoughtful and kind, and leading her into temptation. Viv seems to settle down a bit and not be as “on a whim” as when first introduced.

The mystery is well-plotted as no one and nothing is as it first appears. It takes all of Scarlett’s wits to find out the who-done-it, why, and how as well as make sure they all survive finding Will. With Scarlett’s self-imposed no-dating deadline looming, Viv’s need to make a decision and their gift for getting themselves into trouble, readers will anxiously await what comes next.

McKinlay also writes the Library Lovers mysteries (8 books) and the Cupcake Bakery series (9 books). Readers who enjoy Viv and Scarlett will want to read them all.

To enter to win a copy of Assault and Berett, simply email KRL at krlcontests@gmail[dot]com by replacing the [dot] with a period, and with the subject line “berett,” or comment on this article. A winner will be chosen February 11, 2017. U.S. residents only. If entering via email please include your mailing address, and if via comment please include your email address.

Check out other mystery articles, reviews, book giveaways & short stories in our mystery section.

Use this link to purchase the book & a portion goes to help support KRL & indie bookstore Mysterious Galaxy:

You can also use this link to purchase the book on Amazon. If you have ad blocker on you may not see the link:

sybilfinalad

Sandra Murphy lives in the shadow of the Arch, in the land of blues, booze and shoes—St Louis, Missouri. While writing magazine articles to support her mystery book habit, she secretly polishes mystery books of her own, hoping, someday, they will see the light of Barnes and Noble and a Kindle. You can find several of Sandra’s short stories at Untreed Reads including her newest, “Arthur,” included in the anthology titled, Flash and Bang, available now. Look for Denali, in the anthology Dogs and Dragons.

Disclosure: This post contains links to an affiliate program, for which we receive a few cents if you make purchases. KRL also receives free copies of most of the books that it reviews, that are provided in exchange for an honest review of the book.

{ 26 comments… read them below or add one }

1 Bree HerronNo Gravatar
Twitter: @BreeReviews
February 4, 2017 at 8:30am

Oh the city of love and mystery!!! I’m beyond excited for the chance to win this book and it even gets announced on my birthday!
A recent post from Bree Herron: Faith UpMy Profile

Reply

2 Cheryl Harding SmithNo Gravatar February 4, 2017 at 9:28am

would love to read this..enjoy your books so much

Reply

3 DebbieNo Gravatar February 4, 2017 at 9:30am

Love Jen McKinlay. Her books are great.

Reply

4 Patricia WagnerNo Gravatar February 4, 2017 at 9:48am

Would like to read. Fingers crossed.

Reply

5 CeciliaNo Gravatar February 4, 2017 at 9:53am

Thanks for the great review and giveaway. This sounds very interesting.

Reply

6 Donna GanttNo Gravatar February 4, 2017 at 1:19pm

I always enjoy reading books by Jenn McKinlay. Thanks!

Reply

7 Linda HeroldNo Gravatar
Twitter: @1957
February 4, 2017 at 2:42pm

I’d love to win a giveaway from this author! Thanks so much for the chance!! lindaherold999@gmail.com

Reply

8 Linda HeroldNo Gravatar
Twitter: @1957
February 4, 2017 at 2:43pm

I’d love to win a giveaway from this author. Thanks for the chance! lindaherold999@gmail.com

Reply

9 Donamae KutskaNo Gravatar
Twitter: @donamaekutska
February 4, 2017 at 2:59pm

Wow! Sounds amazing thank you

Reply

10 Paula AdamsNo Gravatar
Twitter: @qnofdnile
February 4, 2017 at 3:29pm

I just love Jenn McKinley’s books. I need to catch up on this series. I’ve only read the first one. pgenest57 at aol dot com

Reply

11 Della WilliamsonNo Gravatar
Twitter: @DellaWilliamso6
February 4, 2017 at 3:41pm

Lovely post. Would love to read this book. Thank you for the chance to do so

Reply

12 Kathleen KendlerNo Gravatar February 4, 2017 at 3:47pm

I can’t wait to read this.
kckendler at gmail dot com

Reply

13 Brooke BumgardnerNo Gravatar
Twitter: @xbrookeb28x
February 4, 2017 at 4:11pm

This series is on my TBR list. Viv and Scarlett sound like so much fun!
A recent post from Brooke Bumgardner: PeachSkinSheets Valentine 2017 Giveaway – Ends 2/18/17My Profile

Reply

14 PamNo Gravatar February 4, 2017 at 4:26pm

I love Jenn’s books! Thanks for this opportunity!

Reply

15 Jess DNo Gravatar February 4, 2017 at 4:31pm

Love this series! Thanks for the chance zeta(at)iwon(dot)com

Reply

16 Mary WoodwardNo Gravatar February 4, 2017 at 5:49pm

Have loved the Hat Shop mysteries as well as McKinlay’s other series (Cupcake and Library Lovers). As far as cozy mysteries go these are some of the best plotted and well written out there. It’s sad that this is the last of the Hat Shop series but here’s hoping that another publisher will pick it up. Can’t wait to have more adventures with Scarlet and Viv.

Reply

17 Jill BroussardNo Gravatar February 4, 2017 at 8:14pm

I’ve been interested in this book for awhile and would love to read it. Thankyou for the opportunity! minishoes@msn.com

Reply

18 Judy WeaverNo Gravatar February 5, 2017 at 8:53am

Sounds like a great read!!

Reply

19 Lorraine BowenNo Gravatar February 5, 2017 at 8:57am

Would love to travel to Paris :)
raineybird at yahoo dot com

Reply

20 peggy claytonNo Gravatar February 5, 2017 at 10:44am

Thanks for a great review and I would love to win a print copy and post reviews after. ptclayton2@aol.com Thanks for the chance

Reply

21 Margaret RushtonNo Gravatar
Twitter: @cupcake5858
February 5, 2017 at 12:51pm

The books sounds great. I’ve never been to Europe but would love to go someday to discover all that is there.
scarletbegonia5858@gmail.com

Reply

22 Doward WilsonNo Gravatar February 5, 2017 at 4:30pm

One of my favorite series!

Reply

23 Lizz Reeves FidlerNo Gravatar
Twitter: @Lizzdmc
February 6, 2017 at 8:55am

I lived meeting Jenn McKinley, and looking forward to reading more of her books.

Reply

24 Dianne CaseyNo Gravatar February 7, 2017 at 7:56pm

I really like Jenn McKinley’s books, but I haven’t read this series yet. Would love to read “Assault and Beret”.
diannekc8(at)gmail(dot)com

Reply

25 LynnNo Gravatar February 8, 2017 at 10:36am

Sounds like a terrific read, thanks for offer!

Reply

26 LorieNo Gravatar
Twitter: @mysteryrat
February 21, 2017 at 11:56am

We have a winner

Reply

Leave a Comment

Twitter ID
(ID only; No links or "@" symbols)

CommentLuv badge

Previous post:

Next post:

  • Arts & Entertainment

  • Books & Tales

  • Community

  • Education

  • Food Fun

  • Helping Hands

  • Hometown History

  • Pets

  • Teens

  • Terrific Tales