Four-Leaf Felony By Tonya Kappes: Review/Giveaway

May 14, 2022 | 2022 Articles, Kathleen Costa, Mysteryrat's Maze

by Kathleen Costa

Details at the end of this post on how to enter to win an ebook copy of Four-Leaf Felony, and a link to purchase it from Amazon.

Violet Rhinehammer never made a secret of her desire to escape the small town confines of Normal, Kentucky, and hit the big time. Her work as the local reporter for Channel Two news included her own television newscast, “Good Day in the Park,” referring to the fact Normal was surrounded by Daniel Boone National Forest, and writing for the local newspaper, but she’d rather not be reporting on new park trails, local re-enactments, or safety tips during hunting season. She wants to be a real reporter, so you could always find her snooping around or helping out the police for that one big story hoping one day it would capture the attention of the national networks. This didn’t always endear her to the locals, her friends, and family often putting her in opposition of issues of privacy and accuracy, and she’d given up anything resembling a private life. But, a dream is a dream…Hello, Opportunity knocking!

Four-Leaf Felony Earns 5/5 Green Hankies…Entertaining Fun!

Destiny awaits…
It was just a four-hour flight, and Violet’s years of training as an on-camera reporter, perfecting the smile, she knew feigning interest was a valuable skill when dealing with a proud grandmother’s stories of her grand babies. Nonetheless, politely excusing herself to use the bathroom provided her a bit of a break. She grabbed the knob of the facility and opened. Violet had never before been at a loss for words, but found a way to eke out “Dead body. Blood.”

One week earlier…
It was an accident, but spilling her latte on the man behind her, just might be the proverbial “opportunity knocking.” Richard Stone was impressed with everything but Violet’s last name, and offered her the break she’d dreamed of…an interview…in California…in one week.

Back on the flight from hell…
The pilot saw the dead body and announced the necessity for “a quick landing” at Holiday Junction. The flight attendant manipulated Violet into checking the body for ID by mentioning this could be her big scoop and getting in before the police shut it down was a reality. Ok, catering to Violet’s ego…that works! The plane lands, the police arrive, and Violet discovers she’s going to be detained for a few days. No! My big break lost. But, when she calls her prospective boss about the delay, he’s got a different approach. We’ll go live with a “Murder in the Sky” report…her big break is back on! Violet Rhinehammer, International Correspondent!

Stranded in Holiday Junction…
Rhett Strickland, the police chief’s nephew, is infuriating, and when Violet arrives in town, she’s shocked to find it all decked out for St. Patrick’s Day festivities. The town’s notoriety comes from the fact they go overboard for all the holidays attracting many tourists, but murder may be another draw since a second person has been found dead, also a member of a local Hibernian Society and oddly possessing the same shamrock pocket square as the man on the plane. With a glowing recommendation from Sheriff Hemmer in Normal, Kentucky, it looks like Chief Strickland is going to recruit Violet’s help in exchange for full access and her big scoop, but she doesn’t endear herself with the locals, Rhett is more of a mystery, and the opportunity to show off her skills runs into some obstacles.

New series is a “four-leaf” gem…
Tonya Kappes has introduced a delightful spin-off of her popular A Camper and Criminals Cozy Mystery Series! Violet Rhinehammer is brought out of a secondary role into the lead showcasing her skill as a reporter skill and perfecting investigating techniques in a multiple murder case. She helps uncover the un-holiday side of Holiday Junction with its secrets, jealousies, greed, and major conflicts along with lots of greening to be had. The mystery had a fun complexity, small town dynamics, and offered an entertaining challenge. Violet does become a victim of unfortunate headlines in the Junction Journal, which seemed karmic, but she is forced to accept at the end opportunity closing one door and opening another. Kappes’s writing style is descriptive always with fun banter and a plethora of diverse characters, and always a fun respite. Fans of A Camper and Criminals series will be delighted with a few guest appearances from Mae West, the quirky Laundry Club Ladies, and others from Normal, Kentucky, as Violet reaches out for assistance and insights. Fun new series!

Holiday Cozy Mystery
Four-Leaf Felony (April, 2022)
Mother’s Day Murder is set for a June 2 release. (Preorder HERE) It’s Mother’s Day and Violet is covering all the local events, but she’s not alone…her mother is visiting. Violet tries to ingratiate herself with the locals to use their tidbits in the gossip column she’s writing under “anonymous” in the Junction Journal. But, one member in the gossip circles is found dead, and Violet’s mother is the number one suspect.

Be a Big Tonya Kappes Fan!
USA Today bestselling author Tonya Kappes pens a variety of series. along with the Camper & Criminals Cozy series, she also has a Mail Carrier Cozy Mystery, but you can also get exciting ghostly-, magical-, and caffeinated-themed series. For ghosts, she has Ghostly Southern Mystery and Kenni Lowry series. Add some magic with her Southern Magical Mystery, Magical Cures Mystery, and Spies and Spells series. And finally, get a little caffeinated with this marvelous Killer Coffee Mystery. She also has an enjoyable online presence and various events enticing fans to gather to talk, share, and partake in the fun!

Facebook – Author Tonya Kappes
Join the “Cozy Krew”
Become a Member at the Website – Tonya Kappes
YouTube — Tonya Kappes

To enter to win an ebook copy of Four-Leaf Felony, simply email KRL at krlcontests@gmail[dot]com by replacing the [dot] with a period, and with the subject line “four,” or comment on this article. A winner will be chosen May 21, 2022. US only, and must be 18 or older to enter. You can read our privacy statement here if you like.

Check out other mystery articles, reviews, book giveaways & mystery short stories in our mystery section. And join our mystery Facebook group to keep up with everything mystery we post, and have a chance at some extra giveaways. Be sure to check out our new mystery podcast too with mystery short stories, and first chapters read by local actors. A new episode goes up next week.

You can use this link to purchase the book from Amazon or click here. If you have ad blocker on you may not see the link:


Kathleen Costa is a long-time resident of the Central Valley, and although born in Idaho, she considers herself a “California Girl.” Graduating from CSU-Sacramento, she is 35+ year veteran teacher having taught in grades 1-8 in schools from Sacramento to Los Angeles to Stockton to Lodi. Currently Kathleen is enjoying year 2 of retirement revitalizing hobbies along with exploring writing, reading for pleasure, and spending 24/7 with her husband of 26+ years.

Disclosure: This post contains links to an affiliate program, for which we receive a few cents if you make purchases. KRL also receives free copies of most of the books that it reviews, that are provided in exchange for an honest review of the book.

18 Comments

  1. This book sounds absolutely perfect love cozy mysteries

    Reply
  2. I’m excited to read another new series of Tonya’s!

    Reply
  3. Looking forward to this series.

    Reply
    • Love Tonya’s books! Can’t wait to start the new series.
      diannekc8(at)gmail(dot)com

      Reply
  4. Sounds like a fun spin off! Count me in!

    Reply
    • Didn’t see where you can win a copy of your book

      Reply
      • Instructions are near the end of the post but one of the ways to enter is to comment so you are entered!

        Reply
  5. Love Tonyas books love to win this one. Thanks for the chance

    Reply
  6. This sounds so good. I love Tonya Kappes.

    Reply
  7. I love all of Tonya Kappes work!!

    Reply
  8. I’ve never read any of Tonya’s books, but the other day I watched a video she had made and was intrigued, so I checked out her website and added her to my want to read list. sue.stoner72@yahoo.com

    Reply
  9. Tonya is a very gifted writer. Her books will have you feeling so much. You feel like you belong in the town, friends with the characters!! So excited for a chance to win. Thank you!!

    Reply
  10. This sounds like a great read.

    Reply
  11. Sounds like an interesting spinoff!

    Reply
  12. Tonya rocks!

    Reply
  13. Never can go wrong with any book from Tonya Kappes! I would love to start this series!

    Reply
  14. I enjoy this author’s books. Thanks for offering this give away!

    Reply
  15. We have a winner!

    Reply

Leave a Reply to teddi1961 Cancel reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

SUBSCRIBE NOW!

podcast

powered by TinyLetter

The gold medal for all-around wonderful kitty could easily go to darling Chicken Little! This cutiepie never misses an opportunity to hoot it up with her friends, explore any nook or cranny, and make it her mission to check out whatever happens to be going on. Chicken Little came along way after suffering a toe injury calling for immediate amputation. She's all better now and you can't even notice she's missing a rear toe. What an adorable combination she is of fun-loving spirit and sweet, deep affection, a girl who will easily capture hearts in a forever family that cherishes her. Precious Chicken Little would love to be your most darling doll! Check her out on the Cat House website to learn more.