A California Magazine with Local Focus and Global Appeal:
Community - Entertainment - Human Interest


Weekly issues every Saturday morning and other special articles throughout the week — there's something for everyone. Check out our sister site KRL News & Reviews for even more articles every week.


thriller

by Sandra Murphy



Jonathan Grave is about the only guy who can take his girlfriend on a romantic vacation and end up saving the world as we know it. Jonathan and Gail are at the Crystal Sands Resort, a beautiful place where the staff anticipates your every desire.

{ 7 comments }

by Lorie Lewis Ham


As Pride Month comes to an end, we at KRL have one more LGBTQ+ related mystery review to share! This one not only features a transgender main character, but is written by transgender author, Renee James.

{ 7 comments }

by Sandra Murphy



Freddie Venton considers herself a journalist, but she’s working in a coffee shop, writing for free. When she runs into a childhood friend, now a police officer, she follows her to a crime scene.

{ 7 comments }

by Sandra Murphy



It’s got to be a parent’s worst nightmare. Go out for an evening, leave the baby with a reliable sitter, and come home to find the sitter beaten and the baby missing. The parents are wealthy so a ransom demand is expected but never comes.

{ 6 comments }

by Theodore Feit


Turning her attention away from the long-standing series featuring Decker and Lazarus, Faye Kellerman has written a standalone involving a serial killer and rapist, a teenager obsessed with finding the murderer, first love, and hanky-panky goings-on in high school. It makes for good reading throughout the rather bulky book.

{ 6 comments }

The Party Line By Karen Alkofer

IN THE November 18 ISSUE

FROM THE 2017 Articles,
andChristopher Lewis,
andMysteryrat's Maze
SECTIONS

by Christopher Lewis



“Living in a country torn apart by a revolution gives you a different perspective on the lessons you learn in history class,” says Lizzie, the main protagonist in Karen Alkofer’s first novel, The Party Line. It’s a young adult novel with an insightful twist. In addition to providing an interesting story, this book also gives the reader a different perspective than the lessons you learn in history class.

{ 1 comment }

by Sandra Murphy



For readers who love Theodosia, Drayton, and Haley from the Tea Shop books, Carmela and Ava from the scrapbook series, and Suzanne, Petra, and Toni from the Cackleberry Club, this is a departure from the cozy mysteries you’re used to. Schmitt (Laura Childs’ real name) has turned to thrillers. Her first, Little Girl Gone, is about a kidnapped baby. Shadow Girl is the second, and it starts with a bang, literally.

{ 7 comments }

by Doward Wilson



Meet PI Roxane Weary. She is dealing with her cop father’s recent death on the job by trying to drink herself into oblivion every day. As her bank account runs low, her brother sends her his friend who is trying to save her brother from execution. Fifteen years ago Brad Stockton’s beautiful blonde girlfriend, Sarah Cook, disappeared, and her parents were brutally murdered. No trace of her has been found since that night until Brad’s sister tells Roxane that she saw her at a neighborhood gas station and begs Roxane to try and find her and get her brother acquitted.

{ 11 comments }

by Sharon Tucker


Barry Lancet’s Japantown (2016) introduced readers to Asian art dealer/Japanese detective agency owner Jim Brodie and both his divergent firms—one in San Francisco, the other in Tokyo—readily making available a cornucopia of possible plots that could occur in the US or Japan, or both, and by no means restricted to either locale. Lancet followed this intriguing debut with Tokyo Kill (2015), in which a veteran Japanese soldier comes to Brodie in Tokyo, certain that his friends and former unit are systematically being murdered, putting a WWII twist to the plot and making readers wonder to what degree Japanese culture still labors under the weight of that particular history.

{ 11 comments }

by Sandra Murphy


Chase Day is a history professor, former Navy, and presumably an orphan, raised by his grandmother. His mother was killed in a fire over thirty years ago. He never knew who his father was. His mother abused drugs and alcohol so her mothering skills were spotty at best. He also coaches veterans in an art therapy class, getting them to put their problems on the canvas. It’s helped him although no one would call him an artist.

{ 11 comments }

  • Arts & Entertainment

  • Books & Tales

  • Community

  • Education

  • Food Fun

  • Helping Hands

  • Hometown History

  • Pets

  • Teens

  • Terrific Tales