A California Magazine with Local Focus and Global Appeal:
Community - Entertainment - Human Interest


Weekly issues every Saturday morning and other special articles throughout the week — there's something for everyone. Check out our sister site KRL News & Reviews for even more articles every week.


Laura Childs

by Sandra Murphy


Choosing attorney Allan Sharp to play Scrooge in the local production of A Christmas Carol was type-casting. He and Mayor Mobley hatched up schemes to their benefit, not the townspeople, very Scrooge-like behavior.

{ 10 comments }

by Sunny Frazier


Make sure to ask Santa to bring you these Christmas reads when you write to him. And maybe he’ll bring you a shelter pet after you read four mysteries with that theme. Plus, start the New Year with three new series. Enjoy your presents!

{ 3 comments }

by Sandra Murphy


It’s Mardi Gras time in New Orleans. Carmela and Ava are ready to sell tons of merchandise in their shops (scrapbooking and voodoo) and dance the nights away as Fat Tuesday nears. Party time includes parades with the fabulous floats manned by the competitive krewes.

{ 24 comments }

by Cynthia Chow
& Sandra Murphy



More food mysteries for your reading fun-Death by Chocolate Cherry Cheesecake: A Death by Chocolate Mystery by Sarah Graves, Hummus and Homicide: Kebab Kitchen Mystery By Tina Kashian, Plum Tea Crazy: A Tea Shop Mystery by Laura Childs, and Marinating in Murder: A Dinner Club Mystery by Linda Wiken.

{ 21 comments }

by Sandra Murphy



It’s got to be a parent’s worst nightmare. Go out for an evening, leave the baby with a reliable sitter, and come home to find the sitter beaten and the baby missing. The parents are wealthy so a ransom demand is expected but never comes.

{ 6 comments }

Coming Attractions: The Lent Edition

IN THE February 24 ISSUE

FROM THE 2018 Articles,
andComing Attractions!,
andSunny Frazier
SECTIONS

by Sunny Frazier


Authors are throwing temptation your way with their tasty (and tasteful) books—including 5 new series. Enjoy!

{ 14 comments }

by Cynthia Chow,
Sandra Murphy, Terrance Mc Arthur, & Lorie Lewis Ham


Once again another year has ended, and we take a look back at a few of the many books reviewed in KRL in 2017. All but one of our main reviewers share in this post their top 5 favorite books they reviewed in 2017 (well some of them may fudge on that a bit).

{ 0 comments }

by Sandra Murphy



For readers who love Theodosia, Drayton, and Haley from the Tea Shop books, Carmela and Ava from the scrapbook series, and Suzanne, Petra, and Toni from the Cackleberry Club, this is a departure from the cozy mysteries you’re used to. Schmitt (Laura Childs’ real name) has turned to thrillers. Her first, Little Girl Gone, is about a kidnapped baby. Shadow Girl is the second, and it starts with a bang, literally.

{ 7 comments }

by Sandra Murphy


Have you ever heard of a Rat Tea? Theodosia and Drayton are invited to one by Doreen Briggs, one of Charleston’s well-known hostesses. The servers are dressed as rats in livery. Although it seems more than a little gross, it is part of Charleston’s long history—sponsored fundraisers by the elite for rat control. No longer needed as that kind of fundraiser, hostesses think of them as trendy.

{ 18 comments }

by Sunny Frazier


We’re all a little Irish on St. Patrick’s Day, and lucky that I am to announce two new series for your reading pleasure!
It’s Purr M for Murder in T.C. LoTempio’s latest. You may know the author from her Nick and Nora cat mysteries, but this is a cat rescue series. Sydney McCall, a nice Irish name, left New York City, an ex-fiancé, and an advertising job to return home to Deer Park, NC, and help her sister run an animal shelter, Friendly Paws.

{ 8 comments }

by Sandra Murphy


Suzanne, Petra, and Toni make up the Cackleberry Club. It’s mostly a restaurant, kind of a diner but with tea parties in the afternoons and special events at night. There’s a section of good books to read and another full of skeins of yarn and knitting needles. As they say, something for everyone.

{ 17 comments }

by Sunny Frazier


My new kidney and I are glad to be back and ready to share fun books that might find their way under your tree this year!
A snow globe as a murder weapon? Mayor Lewis Frost, known as “Frosty,” is dealing with controversy in the city council.

{ 38 comments }

by Sandra Murphy
& Cynthia Chow



We end October with a fun group of new mysteries from Penguin authors, and most tie in to food and drink in some way-
Crepe Factor: A Scrapbooking Mystery By Laura Childs and Terrie Farley Moran, Seeds of Deception: An Orchard Mystery Series by Sheila Connolly, Tangled Up in Brew: Brewing Trouble Series by Joyce Tremel, and Killing Thyme: A Spice Shop Mystery by Leslie Budewitz.

{ 16 comments }

by Sandra Murphy


Brooke owns Heart’s Desire Fine Jewelry. She’s managed to gather jewelers, museums, and private collectors all under one roof to showcase the best of the best in precious gems. Theodosia and the Indigo Tea Shop are catering the event with jeweled scones (candied fruits) and fabulous teas.

{ 22 comments }

by Sunny Frazier


Don’t count winter out just yet! Here, for your reading pleasure, are several “yummy” mysteries with recipes, debut mysteries, and stories set all over the USA, Mexico, and across the Pond.

{ 16 comments }

by Sandra Murphy


This week we have a perfect group of Penguin mysteries to end the Halloween month-Faux Paw: A Magical Cats Mystery by Sofie Kelly, Murder She Wrote: The Ghost and Mrs. Fletcher by Jessica Fletcher, Donald Bain and Renee Paley-Bain, Parchment and Old Lace by Laura Childs with Terrie Farley Moran, and Just Killing Time by Julianne Holmes. Details at the end of this post on how to win copies of all 4 books, and a link to purchase them.

{ 17 comments }

  • Arts & Entertainment

  • Books & Tales

  • Community

  • Education

  • Food Fun

  • Helping Hands

  • Hometown History

  • Pets

  • Teens

  • Terrific Tales