A California Magazine with Local Focus and Global Appeal:
Community - Entertainment - Human Interest


Weekly issues every Saturday morning and other special articles throughout the week — there's something for everyone. Check out our sister site KRL News & Reviews for even more articles every week.


Laura Childs

by Sandra Murphy
& Cynthia Chow


This week we have some more fun food mysteries perfect for Easter reading-“Broken Bone China” A Tea Shop Mystery by Laura Childs, “Leave No Scone Unturned” A Chef-To-Go Mystery by Denise Swanson, “Murder Lo Mein” A Noodle Shop Mystery by Vivien Chien, and “One Feta in the Grave” A Kitchen Kebab Mystery by Tina Kashian.

{ 22 comments }

by Sunny Frazier


Lots of foodie mysteries and recipes in my St. Paddy’s Day Edition.
‘Tis the luck of the Irish and Corned Beef and Casualties that Lynn Cahoon brings us this month.

{ 17 comments }

by Sandra Murphy


Choosing attorney Allan Sharp to play Scrooge in the local production of A Christmas Carol was type-casting. He and Mayor Mobley hatched up schemes to their benefit, not the townspeople, very Scrooge-like behavior.

{ 12 comments }

by Sunny Frazier


Make sure to ask Santa to bring you these Christmas reads when you write to him. And maybe he’ll bring you a shelter pet after you read four mysteries with that theme. Plus, start the New Year with three new series. Enjoy your presents!

{ 3 comments }

by Sandra Murphy


It’s Mardi Gras time in New Orleans. Carmela and Ava are ready to sell tons of merchandise in their shops (scrapbooking and voodoo) and dance the nights away as Fat Tuesday nears. Party time includes parades with the fabulous floats manned by the competitive krewes.

{ 24 comments }

by Cynthia Chow
& Sandra Murphy



More food mysteries for your reading fun-Death by Chocolate Cherry Cheesecake: A Death by Chocolate Mystery by Sarah Graves, Hummus and Homicide: Kebab Kitchen Mystery By Tina Kashian, Plum Tea Crazy: A Tea Shop Mystery by Laura Childs, and Marinating in Murder: A Dinner Club Mystery by Linda Wiken.

{ 21 comments }

by Sandra Murphy



It’s got to be a parent’s worst nightmare. Go out for an evening, leave the baby with a reliable sitter, and come home to find the sitter beaten and the baby missing. The parents are wealthy so a ransom demand is expected but never comes.

{ 6 comments }

Coming Attractions: The Lent Edition

IN THE February 24 ISSUE

FROM THE 2018 Articles,
andComing Attractions!,
andSunny Frazier
SECTIONS

by Sunny Frazier


Authors are throwing temptation your way with their tasty (and tasteful) books—including 5 new series. Enjoy!

{ 16 comments }

by Cynthia Chow,
Sandra Murphy, Terrance Mc Arthur, & Lorie Lewis Ham


Once again another year has ended, and we take a look back at a few of the many books reviewed in KRL in 2017. All but one of our main reviewers share in this post their top 5 favorite books they reviewed in 2017 (well some of them may fudge on that a bit).

{ 0 comments }

by Sandra Murphy



For readers who love Theodosia, Drayton, and Haley from the Tea Shop books, Carmela and Ava from the scrapbook series, and Suzanne, Petra, and Toni from the Cackleberry Club, this is a departure from the cozy mysteries you’re used to. Schmitt (Laura Childs’ real name) has turned to thrillers. Her first, Little Girl Gone, is about a kidnapped baby. Shadow Girl is the second, and it starts with a bang, literally.

{ 7 comments }

by Sandra Murphy


Have you ever heard of a Rat Tea? Theodosia and Drayton are invited to one by Doreen Briggs, one of Charleston’s well-known hostesses. The servers are dressed as rats in livery. Although it seems more than a little gross, it is part of Charleston’s long history—sponsored fundraisers by the elite for rat control. No longer needed as that kind of fundraiser, hostesses think of them as trendy.

{ 18 comments }

by Sunny Frazier


We’re all a little Irish on St. Patrick’s Day, and lucky that I am to announce two new series for your reading pleasure!
It’s Purr M for Murder in T.C. LoTempio’s latest. You may know the author from her Nick and Nora cat mysteries, but this is a cat rescue series. Sydney McCall, a nice Irish name, left New York City, an ex-fiancé, and an advertising job to return home to Deer Park, NC, and help her sister run an animal shelter, Friendly Paws.

{ 8 comments }

  • Arts & Entertainment

  • Books & Tales

  • Community

  • Education

  • Food Fun

  • Helping Hands

  • Hometown History

  • Pets

  • Teens

  • Terrific Tales