A California Magazine with Local Focus and Global Appeal:
Community - Entertainment - Human Interest


Weekly issues every Saturday morning and other special articles throughout the week — there's something for everyone. Check out our sister sites Kings River Lite and KRL News & Reviews for bonus articles.


Laura Childs

by Cynthia Chow,
Sandra Murphy, Terrance Mc Arthur, & Lorie Lewis Ham


Once again another year has ended, and we take a look back at a few of the many books reviewed in KRL in 2017. All but one of our main reviewers share in this post their top 5 favorite books they reviewed in 2017 (well some of them may fudge on that a bit).

{ 0 comments }

by Sandra Murphy



For readers who love Theodosia, Drayton, and Haley from the Tea Shop books, Carmela and Ava from the scrapbook series, and Suzanne, Petra, and Toni from the Cackleberry Club, this is a departure from the cozy mysteries you’re used to. Schmitt (Laura Childs’ real name) has turned to thrillers. Her first, Little Girl Gone, is about a kidnapped baby. Shadow Girl is the second, and it starts with a bang, literally.

{ 7 comments }

by Sandra Murphy


Have you ever heard of a Rat Tea? Theodosia and Drayton are invited to one by Doreen Briggs, one of Charleston’s well-known hostesses. The servers are dressed as rats in livery. Although it seems more than a little gross, it is part of Charleston’s long history—sponsored fundraisers by the elite for rat control. No longer needed as that kind of fundraiser, hostesses think of them as trendy.

{ 18 comments }

by Sunny Frazier


We’re all a little Irish on St. Patrick’s Day, and lucky that I am to announce two new series for your reading pleasure!
It’s Purr M for Murder in T.C. LoTempio’s latest. You may know the author from her Nick and Nora cat mysteries, but this is a cat rescue series. Sydney McCall, a nice Irish name, left New York City, an ex-fiancé, and an advertising job to return home to Deer Park, NC, and help her sister run an animal shelter, Friendly Paws.

{ 8 comments }

by Sandra Murphy


Suzanne, Petra, and Toni make up the Cackleberry Club. It’s mostly a restaurant, kind of a diner but with tea parties in the afternoons and special events at night. There’s a section of good books to read and another full of skeins of yarn and knitting needles. As they say, something for everyone.

{ 17 comments }

by Sunny Frazier


My new kidney and I are glad to be back and ready to share fun books that might find their way under your tree this year!
A snow globe as a murder weapon? Mayor Lewis Frost, known as “Frosty,” is dealing with controversy in the city council.

{ 38 comments }

by Sandra Murphy
& Cynthia Chow



We end October with a fun group of new mysteries from Penguin authors, and most tie in to food and drink in some way-
Crepe Factor: A Scrapbooking Mystery By Laura Childs and Terrie Farley Moran, Seeds of Deception: An Orchard Mystery Series by Sheila Connolly, Tangled Up in Brew: Brewing Trouble Series by Joyce Tremel, and Killing Thyme: A Spice Shop Mystery by Leslie Budewitz.

{ 16 comments }

by Sandra Murphy


Brooke owns Heart’s Desire Fine Jewelry. She’s managed to gather jewelers, museums, and private collectors all under one roof to showcase the best of the best in precious gems. Theodosia and the Indigo Tea Shop are catering the event with jeweled scones (candied fruits) and fabulous teas.

{ 22 comments }

by Sunny Frazier


Don’t count winter out just yet! Here, for your reading pleasure, are several “yummy” mysteries with recipes, debut mysteries, and stories set all over the USA, Mexico, and across the Pond.

{ 16 comments }

by Sandra Murphy


This week we have a perfect group of Penguin mysteries to end the Halloween month-Faux Paw: A Magical Cats Mystery by Sofie Kelly, Murder She Wrote: The Ghost and Mrs. Fletcher by Jessica Fletcher, Donald Bain and Renee Paley-Bain, Parchment and Old Lace by Laura Childs with Terrie Farley Moran, and Just Killing Time by Julianne Holmes. Details at the end of this post on how to win copies of all 4 books, and a link to purchase them.

{ 17 comments }

by Sandra Murphy


Carmela’s scrapbooking shop is next door to Joubert’s shop, Oddities. It’s a weird collection of fun and creepy—heavy on creepy. On her way home from work, she hears odd noises coming from inside and checks to make sure everything is okay. It’s definitely not, as Joubert’s body falls out of a cabinet into Carmela’s arms.

{ 12 comments }

by Cynthia Chow
& Sandra Murphy



We have one more group this week of fun mysteries from Penguin mystery authors-Hiss and Tell by Claire Donally, Ming Tea Murder by Laura Childs, The Book Stops Here by Kate Carlisle, and One Foot in the Grape: A Cypress Cove Mystery By Carlene O’Neil. Details on how to win a copy of all 4 at the end of this post along with a link to purchase them.

{ 30 comments }

by Sandra Murphy



This week we have some more fun food mysteries from Penguin-Lemon Pies and Little White Lies by Ellery Adams, Steeped in Evil by Laura Childs, and Murder She Wrote, Killer in the Kitchen by Jessica Fletcher and Donald Bain. Details at the end of this post on how to win copies of all 3 books, and a link to purchase them.

{ 18 comments }

by Sandra Murphy




If you keep your stash of culinary mysteries close to the kitchen, if you dog-ear the pages and have Post It tabs marking your favorite recipes, if you’ve ever wondered, “Why can’t these all be in one place?” —well, ask no more, The Cozy Cookbook is here.

{ 51 comments }

Scorched Eggs By Laura Childs

IN THE February 21 ISSUE

FROM THE 2015 Articles,
andMysteryrat's Maze,
andSandra Murphy
SECTIONS

by Sandra Murphy



Kit and Ricky’s vintage wedding is scheduled to take place in the park. Petra, Toni and Suzanne, the three owners of the Cackleberry Club restaurant (and Book Nook and yarn shop) are looking forward to the festivities. Suzanne is in the midst of a hair emergency (blond highlights if you must know) when she smells smoke. Of course, her first thought is that the bubblehead hair dryer is reacting with the foil on her hair. She looks like a baked potato, ready for the oven as it is. The smell gets stronger and the air fogs a bit. She calls the alarm and as people exit the salon, the building next door goes up in flames.

{ 16 comments }

October Penguin Mysteries

IN THE October 18 ISSUE

FROM THE 2014 Articles,
andCynthia Chow,
andMysteryrat's Maze,
andPets,
andSandra Murphy
SECTIONS

by Cynthia Chow
& Sandra Murphy



We have another fun group of 5 Penguin mysteries which includes one perfect for Halloween month, Literally Murder: A Black Cat Bookshop Mystery by Ali Brandon. We also have Off Kilter: A Scottish Highlands Mystery by Hannah Reed, Weave of Absence by Carol Ann Martin, Bless Her Dead Little Heart by Miranda James, and Gilt Trip by Laura Childs with Diana Orgain. Details on how to win a copy of all 5 books at the end of this post, along with a link to purchase them where a portion goes to help support KRL.

{ 24 comments }

  • Arts & Entertainment

  • Books & Tales

  • Community

  • Education

  • Food Fun

  • Helping Hands

  • Hometown History

  • Pets

  • Teens

  • Terrific Tales