A California Magazine with Local Focus and Global Appeal:
Community - Entertainment - Human Interest


Weekly issues every Saturday morning and new articles throughout the week, including — movie reviews each Monday at 7pm and live events Wednesdays at 7pm. If you love mysteries — explore Mysteryrat’s Maze — there's something for everyone… and check out our sister site on Blogger for bonus articles.


How to Promote Recovery from Mental Illness

FROM THE July 12 ISSUE

IN THE Mental Health SECTION

by Rev. Mary Alice Do



Often people are unaware that friends, acquaintances and co-workers are struggling with a mental illness. This makes it seem like mental illness is not a serious problem, but it is. According to the National Alliance on Mental Illness, one in four people will have a mental illness in any given year; one in 17 has a serious mental illness. Add to this loved ones and you have a great many people affected.

[click to continue…]

July Food Mysteries From Penguin

FROM THE July 12 ISSUE

IN THE Cynthia Chow SECTION

by Sandra Murphy &
Cynthia Chow


This week we have another helping of food mysteries from Penguin-Cookies and Scream: A Cookie Cutter Shop Mystery by Virginia Lowell, Crime Rib: A Food Lovers’ Village Mystery by Leslie Budewitz, Maple Mayhem by Jessie Crockett, and Muffin but Murder by Victoria Hamilton. Details at the end of this post on how to win all 4 books, and a link to purchase them where a portion goes to support KRL.

[click to continue…]

Working From Home…With Cats: A Cat Tale

FROM THE July 12 ISSUE

IN THE Pets SECTION

by Rebecca McLeod



“Ehhhhhhhh!”
This is the sound that my kitten, Floppy, uses for most communicative occasions. It means a variety of things:
“Mom, I think I broke your iPhone!” (Yes Floppy, and I think you broke my foot when the iPhone landed on it.)
“Mom, I’m sitting in the dryer!” (Great Floppy, thanks for pre-shedding the clean clothes.)

[click to continue…]

Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf?: Presented by A.R.T.

FROM THE July 12 ISSUE

IN THE Arts & Entertainment SECTION

by Lorie Lewis Ham



This weekend Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf? opened in Fresno, presented by Artists Repertory Theatre (ART). We took a moment to chat with the show’s director Brad Myers.

[click to continue…]

How I Met My Dinner: Chicken and Waffles

FROM THE July 12 ISSUE

IN THE Alicia Lieu SECTION

by Alicia Lieu


It had struck me that I hadn’t had soul food in a really long time, and by really long time, I’m estimating that it has probably been at least six years since I went for soul food in New York. Los Angeles however, is a different story. I spent a few summers teaching at a summer enrichment program in Northwest Pasadena with a team of college students in my undergraduate days. During this time I was introduced to the combination of chicken and waffles.

[click to continue…]

Lord Peter Returns to Oxford in Walsh’s The Late Scholar

FROM THE July 12 ISSUE

IN THE Mysteryrat's Maze SECTION

by Sharon Tucker


Have you ever heard of, much less read, a pastiche that pleased all readers? I have not. As we know, even the original classics have their detractors. Some readers are over-the-moon to get a chance to re-enter the world of a beloved author and are generous in their assessments of those who attempt to carry on in the tradition of Jane Austen, Charlotte Bronte or Dorothy L. Sayers. Other readers will urge pastiche readers to get themselves back to the original authors, to eschew all imitations and to be satisfied with whatever canon as penned.

[click to continue…]

Judge and Jury: Mystery Short Story

FROM THE July 12 ISSUE

IN THE Mysteryrat's Maze SECTION

by

by Robert Weibezahl



“Bless me Father, for I have sinned,” George began to recite even before Father James had finished sliding open the ornate grille that separated penitent from priest in the confessional. “It has been two weeks since my last confession.”

[click to continue…]

Murder in the First: TV review

FROM THE July 12 ISSUE

IN THE Mysteryrat's Maze SECTION

by Bobbi A. Chukran


Murder in the First is a new TV drama that aired on TNT a few weeks ago. The series was created by Steven Bochco, and Eric Lodal.
The show explores one crime through ten episodes, going from the commission of the crime, through the investigation, to the arrest and trial.

[click to continue…]

Book Clubbed: A Booktown Mystery By Lorna Barrett: Review/Interview/Giveaway

FROM THE July 12 ISSUE

IN THE Cynthia Chow SECTION

by Cynthia Chow



It’s been a long, hard winter for Stoneham, New Hampshire, but even with “Booktown” business at a virtual standstill, everyone seems to have their hands full with emotional dramas. Haven’t Got a Clue mystery bookstore owner Tricia Miles has two exes who want back into her good graces, never mind what she wants. That would be Police Chief Grant Baker and Tricia’s ex-husband Christopher. Tricia’s sister Angelica, the new president of the Chamber of Commerce, is saddled with an unhelpful receptionist as well as the difficult task of finding a new place for meetings.

[click to continue…]

Silver Mirrors By A.A. Aguirre

FROM THE July 12 ISSUE

IN THE Fantasy & Fangs SECTION

by Terrance Mc Arthur




Last year, A. A. Aguirre’s Bronze Gods introduced Janus Mikani and Celeste Ritsuko, Criminal Investigation Division inspectors. In Silver Mirrors, the duo doesn’t have time to rest after saving the lands of Hy Breasil from disintegration and the return of past glories that involved human sacrifice and strange machines.

[click to continue…]

Reedley History: The Granger Twins

FROM THE July 12 ISSUE

IN THE Hometown History SECTION

by Jim Bulls


Before the year 1892, Reedley awakened to activity on G Street where today we enjoy Pioneer Park. Chinese laborers were building brick kilns for the Craycroft Brick Company. These kilns would fire bricks that would be used to build two warehouses commissioned by the Granger’s Bank of California, located in San Francisco.

[click to continue…]

[title of show] Presented by StageWorks Fresno

FROM THE July 9 ISSUE

IN THE Local Live SECTION

by Lorie Lewis Ham



This weekend I saw [title of show] presented by StageWorks Fresno. StageWorks first produced this show as their debut show in Fresno a few years ago. I loved it then, and loved it now.

[click to continue…]

Faceoff, David Baldacci, Editor

FROM THE July 7 ISSUE

IN THE Mysteryrat's Maze SECTION

by Ted Feit


A faceoff in hockey occurs when two opposing players face each other in a circle or at center ice and attempt to direct the puck to a teammate when the ref tosses it between them. In other circumstances, a faceoff implies one or more forces facing each other, usually in opposition. So at the very least this, the third book to be published on behalf of the International Thrillers Writers, comprising some of the best-known authors of the thriller-mystery genre, whose proceeds fund the organization, is a misnomer.

[click to continue…]

A Penguin Paranormal Mystery Trio

FROM THE July 5 ISSUE

IN THE Cynthia Chow SECTION

by Cynthia Chow


This week we have a fun trio of brand new paranormal mysteries from Penguin-A Vision in Velvet: A Witchcraft Mystery by Juliet Blackwell, From Fear to Eternity by Michelle Rowen, and Be Careful What You Witch For by Dawn Eastman. Details at the end of this post on how to win copies of all 3, and a link to purchase them where a portion goes to support KRL.

[click to continue…]
  • Arts & Entertainment

  • Books & Tales

  • Community

  • Education

  • Food

  • Helping Hands

  • Hometown History

  • Pets

  • Teens

  • Terrific Tales