A California Magazine with Local Focus and Global Appeal:
Community - Entertainment - Human Interest


Weekly issues every Saturday morning and other special articles throughout the week — there's something for everyone. Check out our sister sites Kings River Lite and KRL News & Reviews for bonus articles.


Mysteryrat’s Maze

by Sandra Murphy
& Amanda Flower



This week we have a couple of mysteries involving magical cats and ghosts, and one foodie mystery-A Tale of Two Kitties: A Magical Cats Mystery by Sophie Kelly, Ghost on the Case: Bailey Ruth series by Carolyn Hart & Pudding Up With Murder: An Undercover Dish Mystery by Julia Buckley.

{ 17 comments }

by Sandra Murphy
& Amanda Flower



New York City chocolatier Bailey King is on the verge of achieving the dream. Her mentor is retiring and ready to name his successor, and it’s between Bailey and one other candidate. Monday is the day of the announcement.

{ 15 comments }

by Daryl Wood Gerber



“Ayiii!” Jenna stamped her foot and flicked the Hello Kitty pillow she got for Christmas six years ago across the room. Why was “I’ll Never Break Your Heart” playing on the radio? Didn’t the disc jockey know that Denny Henderson had dumped Jenna for Lili Littlefield today? Didn’t the DJ know that Jenna was at home, alone, on her birthday? Her parents took her brother and sister out to dinner on this chilly spring night because they thought Denny was taking Jenna for a burger and milkshake to celebrate. As if.

{ 2 comments }

by Barbara Schlichting



My Jingle Dancer figurine was missing!
From the moment I walked into my store I knew something was wrong. I had a small collection of small, antique dolls with historic and cultural significance. Now my collection of figurines arrayed on the glass shelf in the window, was smaller by one, my Jingle Dancer.

{ 1 comment }

by Cynthia Chow


Back in 1972, Walt Longmire was not the wry, easy-going sheriff readers love today. Just two weeks of working under Absaroka County Sheriff Lucian Connelly had Walt questioning his choice of career, despite the pressure of having to support a new wife and upcoming baby. In his first year as president of the Wyoming Sheriff’s Association, Lucian was dragging along his rookie deputy for a sheriff’s junket on the Western Star steam train to Evanston.

{ 37 comments }

by Kathleen Costa


Another engaging story with a favorite character in Kathi Daley’s literary family! Kailani “Lani” Pope, lifeguard at the Dolphin Bay resort, has found another dead body, this one at the bottom of a cliff. However, and here is Kathi’s twist, the discovery has Lani perplexed since this body was reported to have died five years ago! Sure, no body had been found then, and Lani’s father was first on the scene, finding the murdered body of an heiress, chasing the possible killer to a cliff and witnessing that man jump. All believed no one could have survived that leap.

{ 41 comments }

by Cynthia Chow


It makes sense that in a town full of witches, there would be a veterinarian in Portsmouth who specializes in familiars. Only recently aware of her magical heritage herself, Annabelle Amelia Blessingsound Britton makes an appointment to take her disappearing (literally, at times) cat familiar for a routine checkup. Alistair receives a clean bill of health, but the same won’t soon be said for Dr. Ramona Forsythe.

{ 21 comments }

by Sandra Murphy



Scumble River is in Illinois, in the path of tornadoes. Usually, they’re not bad, but this year, that’s different. Sky Dennison is married, pregnant, and ready to train a replacement school counselor who can handle things while Skye’s on maternity leave. Everything is going smoothly.

{ 12 comments }

by Doward Wilson


A strange and unique adventure awaits as you venture into a world populated with intelligent cat and no humans. Meet Hettie Bagshot of the No. 2 Feline Detective Agency and her trusty sidekick Tilly, as they work to solve the brutal stabbing death of Miss Mavis Spitforce.

{ 15 comments }

by Katherine Fast


Grabbing as much as his pudgy hands could hold, Butch raised the treasure high in the air over his squatting figure and released a cascade of multi-colored objects that flashed like sparklers in the moonlight before lightly thudding on the forest floor.

{ 3 comments }

by Lorie Lewis Ham


I have been a fan of Marcia Muller’s Sharon McCone books since the very beginning, and still after all of these years I get excited when I hear that a new one is coming out. I couldn’t wait to sit down and read The Color of Fear (Book 32 in this series) and it ended up being very fitting for the time we are now living in– a time when racism seems to be flourishing more than it has for some time, not that it has ever gone away.

{ 9 comments }

by Sandra Murphy



For readers who love Theodosia, Drayton, and Haley from the Tea Shop books, Carmela and Ava from the scrapbook series, and Suzanne, Petra, and Toni from the Cackleberry Club, this is a departure from the cozy mysteries you’re used to. Schmitt (Laura Childs’ real name) has turned to thrillers. Her first, Little Girl Gone, is about a kidnapped baby. Shadow Girl is the second, and it starts with a bang, literally.

{ 7 comments }

by Sharon Tucker


Don’t look for much grit in Laura Resnick’s Urban Fantasies despite the fact that they have New York City as the backdrop. Oh, it isn’t that the streets aren’t mean and that the characters lack the infamous New Yorker’s brusqueness, rather it’s the fact that the stories are told in first person by heroine/actress/waitress/elf Esther Diamond who is nothing if not upbeat to the point of Micawberism. Even when she’s strung out over her never-quite-boyfriend Detective Connor Lopez or freaked about being unemployed, there is a strong positive undercurrent that tells readers she will triumph. Of course alliance with a 350-year-old Mage, Dr. Maximillian Zadok makes getting out of the scrapes Esther gets into much easier.

{ 0 comments }

by Denise Johnson


“I hate working this shift.” Kim snapped the gum in her mouth as she slammed the door on the SUV.
Quite the parking job,” Nick always busted her chops, especially when it came to driving.
The two plain clothes detectives made their way across the quiet, suburban street to where a dead body lay.

{ 2 comments }

by Guy Belleranti


Roy heard his wife even before she burst into his writing room. Though Elaine padded about either in slippers or barefoot, the floorboards still creaked whenever she ascended the stairs of the old house. Noises…always shattering his concentration.

{ 5 comments }

by Cynthia Chow


Despite the disappearance of his wife just three weeks ago, Darius Witherspoon has no intention of cancelling plans for his catered Halloween costume party. As seen in the first chapter, Darius’s refusal to cancel the celebration isn’t exactly a stoic honoring of Penelope Witherspoon’s favorite holiday.

{ 20 comments }

by Lorie Lewis Ham


I am a HUGE fan of Murder She Wrote! The show even inspired me to become a mystery writer myself. So when I first met Tom Sawyer at a mystery conference–who not only wrote for the show but later became its show runner-I was so excited! Through the years we have remained in touch, so when he contacted me about reviewing his new memoir I was thrilled and couldn’t wait to read it! I had no idea how interesting his life was way before he ever ended up on the set of Murder She Wrote.

{ 8 comments }

by Margaret S. Hamilton


As Lizzie Christopher and her husband, Nick Cameron, stood at the entrance to a Halloween party, a man grabbed her arm. His eyes and nose were obscured by a small mask.

{ 2 comments }

  • Arts & Entertainment

  • Books & Tales

  • Community

  • Education

  • Food Fun

  • Helping Hands

  • Hometown History

  • Pets

  • Teens

  • Terrific Tales