A California Magazine with Local Focus and Global Appeal:
Community - Entertainment - Human Interest


Weekly issues every Saturday morning and new articles throughout the week, including — movie reviews each Monday at 7pm and live events Wednesdays at 7pm. If you love mysteries — explore Mysteryrat’s Maze — there's something for everyone… and check out our sister site on Blogger for bonus articles.


Book reviews, original stories, poems, humor & related articles. Click on article titles to see full articles.

by Lorie Lewis Ham



Marcia Muller’s Sharon McCone mystery series were my introduction to contemporary mysteries– before that I’d only read Agatha Christie and Sherlock Holmes in my mid teens. I can’t believe her 32nd book in the series, Night Searchers, has just come out!

{ 3 comments }

by Sandra Murphy



Gregory Smith, aka The Kid, used to be a professional pickpocket. He’s given up that life for a fresh start with his bride, Lynn, at their bookstore. He doesn’t miss picking pockets. Much.

{ 4 comments }

by Deborah Harter Williams



Thank you TV creators of Oz–first and foremost for the treat that is the Miss Fisher Mysteries. Bringing Kerry Greenwood’s Phrynne (pronounced Fry-knee) Fisher to the screen is a marvelous accomplishment. If you turn the sound down and just watch the scenery and the costumes you will be well entertained, but then you’d miss out on the stories that are well-crafted, based on intriguing history and well-acted.

{ 4 comments }

Miami Snow: Mystery Short Story

IN THE July 19 ISSUE

FROM THE 2014 Articles,
andMysteryrat's Maze,
andTerrific Tales
SECTIONS

by Ilene Schneider


The morning after I arrived in Miami, I opened the window shades in my bedroom and saw eight inches of snow. I guess I should clarify: I was in Miami, Vermont.

{ 2 comments }

by Marilyn Meredith



Murmurs of Insanity, a Moriah Dru/Richard Lake Mystery by Gerrie Ferris Fingers, is a fascinating and complicated trail littered with all sorts of intriguing characters including some who are missing: a young teen, an artist and his girlfriend.

{ 2 comments }

Supernatural Recap and Review

IN THE July 19 ISSUE

FROM THE 2014 Articles,
andChris Lovato,
andFantasy & Fangs,
andTV
SECTIONS

by Chris Lovato




Finished with nine seasons and headed for a 10th in the fall, Supernatural is a show that’s proven a fan favorite. It’s not hard to see why, but let’s take a look at…

{ 0 comments }

by Sandra Murphy &
Cynthia Chow


This week we have another helping of food mysteries from Penguin-Cookies and Scream: A Cookie Cutter Shop Mystery by Virginia Lowell, Crime Rib: A Food Lovers’ Village Mystery by Leslie Budewitz, Maple Mayhem by Jessie Crockett, and Muffin but Murder by Victoria Hamilton. Details at the end of this post on how to win all 4 books, and a link to purchase them where a portion goes to support KRL.

{ 12 comments }

by Sharon Tucker


Have you ever heard of, much less read, a pastiche that pleased all readers? I have not. As we know, even the original classics have their detractors. Some readers are over-the-moon to get a chance to re-enter the world of a beloved author and are generous in their assessments of those who attempt to carry on in the tradition of Jane Austen, Charlotte Bronte or Dorothy L. Sayers. Other readers will urge pastiche readers to get themselves back to the original authors, to eschew all imitations and to be satisfied with whatever canon as penned.

{ 0 comments }

by

by Robert Weibezahl



“Bless me Father, for I have sinned,” George began to recite even before Father James had finished sliding open the ornate grille that separated penitent from priest in the confessional. “It has been two weeks since my last confession.”

{ 3 comments }

Murder in the First: TV review

IN THE July 12 ISSUE

FROM THE 2014 Articles,
andMysteryrat's Maze,
andTV
SECTIONS

by Bobbi A. Chukran


Murder in the First is a new TV drama that aired on TNT a few weeks ago. The series was created by Steven Bochco, and Eric Lodal.
The show explores one crime through ten episodes, going from the commission of the crime, through the investigation, to the arrest and trial.

{ 3 comments }

by Cynthia Chow



It’s been a long, hard winter for Stoneham, New Hampshire, but even with “Booktown” business at a virtual standstill, everyone seems to have their hands full with emotional dramas. Haven’t Got a Clue mystery bookstore owner Tricia Miles has two exes who want back into her good graces, never mind what she wants. That would be Police Chief Grant Baker and Tricia’s ex-husband Christopher. Tricia’s sister Angelica, the new president of the Chamber of Commerce, is saddled with an unhelpful receptionist as well as the difficult task of finding a new place for meetings.

{ 14 comments }

by Terrance Mc Arthur




Last year, A. A. Aguirre’s Bronze Gods introduced Janus Mikani and Celeste Ritsuko, Criminal Investigation Division inspectors. In Silver Mirrors, the duo doesn’t have time to rest after saving the lands of Hy Breasil from disintegration and the return of past glories that involved human sacrifice and strange machines.

{ 0 comments }

Faceoff, David Baldacci, Editor

IN THE July 7 ISSUE

FROM THE 2014 Articles,
andMysteryrat's Maze
SECTIONS

by Ted Feit


A faceoff in hockey occurs when two opposing players face each other in a circle or at center ice and attempt to direct the puck to a teammate when the ref tosses it between them. In other circumstances, a faceoff implies one or more forces facing each other, usually in opposition. So at the very least this, the third book to be published on behalf of the International Thrillers Writers, comprising some of the best-known authors of the thriller-mystery genre, whose proceeds fund the organization, is a misnomer.

{ 0 comments }

by Cynthia Chow


This week we have a fun trio of brand new paranormal mysteries from Penguin-A Vision in Velvet: A Witchcraft Mystery by Juliet Blackwell, From Fear to Eternity by Michelle Rowen, and Be Careful What You Witch For by Dawn Eastman. Details at the end of this post on how to win copies of all 3, and a link to purchase them where a portion goes to support KRL.

{ 5 comments }

  • Arts & Entertainment

  • Books & Tales

  • Community

  • Education

  • Food

  • Helping Hands

  • Hometown History

  • Pets

  • Teens

  • Terrific Tales