A California Magazine with Local Focus and Global Appeal:
Community - Entertainment - Human Interest


Weekly issues every Saturday morning and other special articles throughout the week — there's something for everyone. Check out our sister sites Kings River Lite and KRL News & Reviews for bonus articles.


Sandra Murphy

by Sandra Murphy
& Cynthia Chow



This week we have a fun group of food mysteries for your Thanksgiving dinner reading-Asking for Truffle: A Southern Chocolate Shop Mystery by Dorothy St. James, Dead and Ganache: A Chocolate Whisperer Mystery by Colette London, The Secret, Book & Scone Society by Ellery Adams, Assault and Buttery: A Popcorn Shop Mystery by Kristi Abbott, The Great Chili Kill-Off: A Fresh Baked Mystery by Liv Washburn, and The Quiche and the Dead: A Pie Town Mystery by Kirsten Weiss.

{ 5 comments }

by Sandra Murphy



Mary Turner Catlin has asked the Ducote sisters, An’gel and Dickce, to visit her family home, now a B&B. This is their downtime when no guests are on hand. Mary Turner believes her house, like many Southern homes, is haunted, and she wants the sister’s advice. Unusual things happen now and again at the Ducote house. An’gel is sure there’s a good reason for them while Dickce is more inclined to believe in an invisible presence.

{ 6 comments }

by Sandra Murphy



Gemma Doyle and Jayne Wilson own the Sherlock Holmes Bookshop and Emporium on Baker Street. Gemma takes care of the bookshop; Jayne runs Mrs. Hudson’s Tea Room in the adjoining space. Gemma is one of those people who notices every little detail and can sometimes be annoying about it without understanding why. Jayne is a good contrast for her as well as being a great baker.

{ 14 comments }

by Sandra Murphy



Aurora (Roe) Teagarden is married to Robin, guardian to her half-brother Phillip, and three days past her due date for her own baby. You’d think that would be enough to do without getting involved in solving another crime, but you’d be wrong.

{ 15 comments }

Fall Mystery Catch-Up

IN THE November 4 ISSUE

FROM THE 2017 Articles,
andCynthia Chow,
andMysteryrat's Maze,
andSandra Murphy
SECTIONS

by Sandra Murphy
& Cynthia Chow



Death, Taxes, and a Shotgun Wedding: A Tara Holloway Novel by Diane Kelly, A Room with a Brew: A Brewing Trouble Mystery by Joyce Tremel, Death on Tap: A Sloan Krause Mystery by Ellie Alexander, Whispers of Warning: A Change of Fortune Mystery by Jessica Estevao, Death at the Seaside: Kate Shackleton series by Frances Brody, and The Essence of Malice: Amory Ames series by Ashley Weaver.

{ 28 comments }

by Sandra Murphy



Lola Woodby is an ex-Society Matron. When her cheating husband kicked the proverbial bucket, she was left penniless. What’s a gal supposed to do? Lola formed the The Discreet Retrieval Agency with her former cook, Berta, as her sidekick. As a cook, Berta is excellent. As a sidekick, she sometimes seems more in charge than Lola. Still, the gumshoe business is a good fit for the both of them.

{ 10 comments }

by Sandra Murphy



Anybody who knows Lucy, realizes her life revolves around her family—husband Bill, daughters Elizabeth, Sara, and Zoe, and son Toby. Thanksgiving usually means a full table and everybody home for the meal. This year, Elizabeth’s working in Paris, Toby and family are in Alaska, Sara’s going on a field trip to Greenland, and Zoe has decided to visit a friend in Montreal.

{ 17 comments }

by Sandra Murphy



This week we have reviews of 2 mysteries from Crooked Lane authors perfect for your Halloween reading, as they involve haunting and ghosts-Death Overdue: A Haunted Library Mystery by Allison Brook, and Doom with a View by Kate Kingsbury.

{ 16 comments }

by Sandra Murphy
& Amanda Flower



This week we have a couple of mysteries involving magical cats and ghosts, and one foodie mystery-A Tale of Two Kitties: A Magical Cats Mystery by Sophie Kelly, Ghost on the Case: Bailey Ruth series by Carolyn Hart & Pudding Up With Murder: An Undercover Dish Mystery by Julia Buckley.

{ 17 comments }

by Sandra Murphy
& Amanda Flower



New York City chocolatier Bailey King is on the verge of achieving the dream. Her mentor is retiring and ready to name his successor, and it’s between Bailey and one other candidate. Monday is the day of the announcement.

{ 15 comments }

by Sandra Murphy



Scumble River is in Illinois, in the path of tornadoes. Usually, they’re not bad, but this year, that’s different. Sky Dennison is married, pregnant, and ready to train a replacement school counselor who can handle things while Skye’s on maternity leave. Everything is going smoothly.

{ 12 comments }

by Sandra Murphy



For readers who love Theodosia, Drayton, and Haley from the Tea Shop books, Carmela and Ava from the scrapbook series, and Suzanne, Petra, and Toni from the Cackleberry Club, this is a departure from the cozy mysteries you’re used to. Schmitt (Laura Childs’ real name) has turned to thrillers. Her first, Little Girl Gone, is about a kidnapped baby. Shadow Girl is the second, and it starts with a bang, literally.

{ 7 comments }

by Sandra Murphy
& Cynthia Chow


This week we have another fun group of craft and sewing related mysteries from Penguin & Kensington authors-A Knit Before Dying: A Tangled Web Mystery by Sadie Hartwell, Knot What You Think: A Quilting Mystery by Mary Marks, Macrame Murder: A Cora Crafts Mystery by Mollie Cox Bryan, & Murder Wears Mittens: A Seaside Knitters Mystery by Sally Goldenbaum. Details at the end of this post on how to enter to win a copy of all 4 books, along with links you can use to purchase them.

{ 22 comments }

Summer Is Over Mystery Review Catch-Up

IN THE September 30 ISSUE

FROM THE 2017 Articles,
andMysteryrat's Maze,
andSandra Murphy
SECTIONS

by Sandra Murphy


So many great mysteries came out this summer that we are still playing catch-up! Here are 3 more-two from Minotaur and 1 from Penguin-A Terrible Beauty: A Lady Emily Mystery by Tasha Alexander, Another Man’s Ground: A Sheriff Hank Worth series by Claire Booth, and A Purely Private Matter: A Rosalind Thorne Mystery by Darcie Wilde.

{ 6 comments }

by Sandra Murphy



Jake Marley has been a recluse for as long as anybody can remember. His sister was killed in a car accident when he was just a kid. After that, things were never the same. He has a lot of money but no friends or family. The townspeople of Clearview, Texas are more than surprised when Jake buys the old Opera House with plans to open a theater. Like Jake, the Opera House has been left to its own devices for far too long. A lot of repairs are in order.

{ 20 comments }

by Sandra Murphy
& E.J. Copperman



Kay Powell has an entertainment background. Her mom, El, and dad Jay (J, K, L, get it?) were performers in the Catskills and now on cruise ships. Kay did her part for years until she felt too grown up and wanted to go to veterinary school. She ended up in law school instead. However, that can be managed if you go into a career of being an agent for animals.

{ 22 comments }

by Sandra Murphy
& Cynthia Chow


This week we have some more July & August mysteries from Penguin authors-Addressed to Kill: A Postmistress Mystery by Jean Flowers, Sowed to Death: A Farmer’s Daughter Mystery by Peg Cochran, Muffin to Fear: A Merry Muffin Mystery by Victoria Hamilton, A Tangled Yarn: A Yarn Retreat Mystery by Betty Hechtman, & Chime and Punishment: A Clock Shop Mystery by Julianne Holmes.

{ 39 comments }

by Sandra Murphy


Maddie James is home on Daybreak Island for her grandmother’s funeral. Grandma’s death wasn’t unexpected, but she’s mourned by all who knew her. At the gravesite, Maddie sees an orange tabby cat, friendly enough but frightened as mourners approach to offer their condolence.

{ 25 comments }

  • Arts & Entertainment

  • Books & Tales

  • Community

  • Education

  • Food Fun

  • Helping Hands

  • Hometown History

  • Pets

  • Teens

  • Terrific Tales