A California Magazine with Local Focus and Global Appeal:
Community - Entertainment - Human Interest


Weekly issues every Saturday morning and other special articles throughout the week — there's something for everyone. Check out our sister sites Kings River Lite and KRL News & Reviews for bonus articles.


2017 Articles

by Cynthia Chow


Back in 1972, Walt Longmire was not the wry, easy-going sheriff readers love today. Just two weeks of working under Absaroka County Sheriff Lucian Connelly had Walt questioning his choice of career, despite the pressure of having to support a new wife and upcoming baby. In his first year as president of the Wyoming Sheriff’s Association, Lucian was dragging along his rookie deputy for a sheriff’s junket on the Western Star steam train to Evanston.

{ 13 comments }

The Rewards of Adopting a Senior

IN THE October 21 ISSUE

FROM THE 2017 Articles,
andAnimal Rescue Adventures,
andLee Juslin
SECTIONS

by Lee Juslin


Many senior dogs come into shelters or rescues because their owners have become ill or have died. Some are simply cruelly discarded from the only home they have ever known because they have committed the sin of getting old, and their families can’t be bothered carrying through on the bargain all dog parents make, or should make, when taking on a canine companion, i.e. to care for them throughout their lives.

{ 0 comments }

by Lupe Gore


It’s October, and that means Halloween is coming! With Halloween come ghosts, pumpkins, all things creepy and, of course, black cats. Now, there are superstitions about black cats and bad luck—which aren’t true at all. However, those superstitions still keep many people from adopting a black cat. Thankfully, for many black cats who were overlooked at kill shelters and given a death sentence, Feral Paws Rescue stepped in and saved their lives.

{ 1 comment }

by Kathleen Costa


Another engaging story with a favorite character in Kathi Daley’s literary family! Kailani “Lani” Pope, lifeguard at the Dolphin Bay resort, has found another dead body, this one at the bottom of a cliff. However, and here is Kathi’s twist, the discovery has Lani perplexed since this body was reported to have died five years ago! Sure, no body had been found then, and Lani’s father was first on the scene, finding the murdered body of an heiress, chasing the possible killer to a cliff and witnessing that man jump. All believed no one could have survived that leap.

{ 19 comments }

by Cynthia Chow


It makes sense that in a town full of witches, there would be a veterinarian in Portsmouth who specializes in familiars. Only recently aware of her magical heritage herself, Annabelle Amelia Blessingsound Britton makes an appointment to take her disappearing (literally, at times) cat familiar for a routine checkup. Alistair receives a clean bill of health, but the same won’t soon be said for Dr. Ramona Forsythe.

{ 4 comments }

by Sandra Murphy



Scumble River is in Illinois, in the path of tornadoes. Usually, they’re not bad, but this year, that’s different. Sky Dennison is married, pregnant, and ready to train a replacement school counselor who can handle things while Skye’s on maternity leave. Everything is going smoothly.

{ 4 comments }

by Mallory Moad



It’s a quiet, early morning in October. The approaching fall has brought a chill, and a mist hangs in the air. But something’s afoot in these peaceful surroundings. From the distance comes a groan—a shriek—the sound of shuffling feet—giggles. Wait, what? Giggles?

{ 0 comments }

by Doward Wilson



A strange and unique adventure awaits as you venture into a world populated with intelligent cats and no humans. Meet Hettie Bagshot of the No. 2 Feline Detective Agency and her trusty sidekick Tilly, as they work to solve the brutal stabbing death of Miss Mavis Spitforce.

{ 3 comments }

by Terrance McArthur


Have you ever had a celebration…with 1,500 of your closest friends? I’ll do that on Halloween night, at the Sanger Chamber of Commerce’s 29th Annual Trick-or-Treat Party.

{ 0 comments }

by Katherine Fast


Grabbing as much as his pudgy hands could hold, Butch raised the treasure high in the air over his squatting figure and released a cascade of multi-colored objects that flashed like sparklers in the moonlight before lightly thudding on the forest floor.

{ 1 comment }

by Lorie Lewis Ham


I have been a fan of Marcia Muller’s Sharon McCone books since the very beginning, and still after all of these years I get excited when I hear that a new one is coming out. I couldn’t wait to sit down and read The Color of Fear (Book 32 in this series) and it ended up being very fitting for the time we are now living in– a time when racism seems to be flourishing more than it has for some time, not that it has ever gone away.

{ 0 comments }

by Sandra Murphy



For readers who love Theodosia, Drayton, and Haley from the Tea Shop books, Carmela and Ava from the scrapbook series, and Suzanne, Petra, and Toni from the Cackleberry Club, this is a departure from the cozy mysteries you’re used to. Schmitt (Laura Childs’ real name) has turned to thrillers. Her first, Little Girl Gone, is about a kidnapped baby. Shadow Girl is the second, and it starts with a bang, literally.

{ 1 comment }

by Terrance McArthur


Long, long ago, in a gas station far, far away, you drove up to the pump and a bell rang. A squad of smartly uniformed young men scurried out, and the work commenced. They pumped your gas, checked your water and oil, washed and squeegeed your windshield, and checked the air in your tires, while you relaxed in your car. You didn’t have to lift a finger.

{ 0 comments }

by Sharon Tucker


Don’t look for much grit in Laura Resnick’s Urban Fantasies despite the fact that they have New York City as the backdrop. Oh, it isn’t that the streets aren’t mean and that the characters lack the infamous New Yorker’s brusqueness, rather it’s the fact that the stories are told in first person by heroine/actress/waitress/elf Esther Diamond who is nothing if not upbeat to the point of Micawberism. Even when she’s strung out over her never-quite-boyfriend Detective Connor Lopez or freaked about being unemployed, there is a strong positive undercurrent that tells readers she will triumph. Of course alliance with a 350-year-old Mage, Dr. Maximillian Zadok makes getting out of the scrapes Esther gets into much easier.

{ 0 comments }

  • Arts & Entertainment

  • Books & Tales

  • Community

  • Education

  • Food Fun

  • Helping Hands

  • Hometown History

  • Pets

  • Teens

  • Terrific Tales